Announcement : 

Happy holidays!  We will see all our tamariki back at kura (school) on Tuesday 23rd July 2024

Kapa Haka

Ko Otawa te maunga

Ko Hei te Tupuna

Ko Te Rapa-rapa-a-hoe te awa

Ko Takakopiri te tangata

Ko Te Arawa te waka

Ko Te kura tuatahi o Te Puke

Tihei Mauri ora!


“Ko au tōku kura, ko tōku kura ko au”

(I embody my school, my school embodies me)


Nau mai haere mai to Te Kura Tuatahi o Te Puke, where we embrace the rich cultural heritage of Aotearoa, New Zealand. Our Kura takes pride in offering a vibrant Kapahaka program that allows all our tamariki and whānau to come together every Tuesday afternoon at 2:30 pm.

In Kapahaka, we delve into a diverse repertoire of waiata and haka, carefully curated from our local iwi, Waitaha, and Tapuika, as well as other well-known pieces from across the nation. Guided by the dedicated leadership of our Whānau class, Ngākau Māhaki, and supported by our passionate kaiako, the sessions are a wonderful opportunity for our students to connect with their cultural roots and showcase their talents.

Our Kapahaka rōpu, a performance group representing the school, is a source of immense pride for Te Kura Tuatahi o Te Puke. They shine on behalf of our kura at various community-wide and celebrational events. Notably, in 2022 and 2023, they represented us with distinction at the Te Kete o Matariki Community event, earning high praise from the community. Additionally, our rōpu performs at several school assemblies throughout the year and plays a special role in our end-of-year assembly, leaving lasting impressions on all who witness their performances.

We are committed to fostering a strong sense of cultural identity and excellence in our students through Kapahaka, nurturing their connection to the heritage of our land. We invite you to join us in celebrating the beauty of Aotearoa’s traditions and the talents of our tamariki and whānau as they embrace the spirit of Kapahaka at Te Kura Tuatahi o Te Puke.


Arabic Arabic Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Simplified) Dutch Dutch English English French French German German Italian Italian Maori Maori Portuguese Portuguese Punjabi Punjabi Russian Russian Samoan Samoan Spanish Spanish